Trend Micro to host Trend Micro CTF Asia Pacific & Japan 2015

Threat Defense Expert aims to create a safe internet world through security competition

15 July, 2015 - Trend Micro Incorporated (TYO: 4704; TSE: 4704), a global leader in security software and solutions, today announced hosting Trend Micro CTF Asia Pacific & Japan 2015, a cyber security competition for engineers. Trend Micro aims to create a safer internet world through this expert event.

In recent years, cyber attacks targeting confidential and personal information are proliferating and increasingly damaging government and commercial entities of all sizes. IT environments are rapidly moving towards cloud, virtualization and Internet of Things (IoT). New technologies are making internet and cyber attacks more advanced and complex, demanding enhanced security knowledge and expertise to create a safer world. As a leading company in internet security, Trend Micro, through this expert event, aims to further enhance technical expertise across the entire internet community.

Trend Micro CTF consists of online qualifier to be held in August, and the final that will be held in Tokyo, Japan in November 2015. The overall event will include challenge categories such as targeted attacks, IoT and ICS/SCADA, reflecting the current and future IT environments. The team winning the final will be awarded 1,000,000JPY and automatic qualification to ‘HITCON CTF 2015 FINAL’ to be held in Taipei in December 2015.

Online qualifier
Dates: From 13:00(JST), August 22 2015 to 13:00(JST), August 23 2015 (Duration: 24 hours)

Program: Jeopardy-style
Venue: Online (requires internet connection)
Entry: From July 15 2015

The Final
Dates: 21-22 November 2015 (Two-day event)
Who’s eligible to participate: Top ten groups (of up to four members each) qualified from online qualifier
Program: Attack and Defense (further details to be announced)


For more information about Trend Micro CTF Asia Pacific & Japan, visit


*¹: CTF (Capture the Flag) is a security competition for security intelligence and expertise among engineers.
*²: Challenge categories in the program may change without notice.
*³: Asia Pacific and Japan countries and regions include the following: Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, People's Republic of, Hong Kong, Macao, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, Republic of, Taiwan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Federated States of, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor Leste, Democractic, Republic of, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam